Love in a Coffee Shop


To write a blog about the journey I’m about to take must include parts about how I arrived here. With these parts come honesty and vulnerability. That’s not easy for me but I’m finding drawn to write in more places than just the pages of my journal.

I’m pretty sure that the last 10 months of my life I have drank more Starbucks coffee than is humanly possible, or healthy for that matter. They all know me by name…well actually if you know some Starbucks folk they know some by drink. “Oh you are talking about extra hot carmel frap guy aren’t you?” So in stating that they know me by name, I hope they do. If not I’m the triple americano in a short cup, no room. They say my drink differently but I get confused so I just call it that and they know what I’m talking about. Sorry about that ramble, basically what I’m trying to say is I spend a lot of time at Starbucks.

As my journey with my Bible and my journal began I found the nearest Starbucks. I would sneak away between the duties of the gym. You could find me with my headphones on a pen in hand writing away. It’s where this journey began. Some find God in different ways, He reveals Himself in different ways to different people. Mine was a journal and a coffee.

When life was tough, when my heart was hurting it’s where I found the most safety! Page after page flowing with truths. In those pages God began to reveal who He was to me. I began to trust Him there.

Never did I think that the pages being written would change my life as it had. There are pages that are funny, some are ridiculously selfish, others are stained with tears. But each and every page unveiled a part of my heart I never knew existed. As I wrote in my first post, my “stuff” was brought out of the closet by the Lord with such love and such mercy. And for that, I am utterly grateful.

I pasted the words to a song I really love. He’s singing about a woman, I’m
singing about God. I can honestly say that love began in a coffee shop.

Falling In Love in a Coffee Shop
Landon Pigg

I think that possibly, maybe I’m falling for you
Yes, there’s a chance that I’ve fallen quite hard over you
I’ve seen the paths that your eyes wander down, I wanna come too
I think that possibly, maybe I’m falling for you

No one understands me quite like you do
Through all of the shadowy corners of me

I never knew just what it was
About this old coffee shop I love so much
All of the while I never knew

I never knew just what it was
About this old coffee shop I love so much
All of the while I never knew

I think that possibly, maybe I’m falling for you
Yes, there’s a chance that I’ve fallen quite hard over you
I’ve seen the waters that make your eyes shine, now I’m shining too
Because, oh, because I’ve fallen quite hard over over you

If I didn’t know you, I’d rather not know
If I couldn’t have you, I’d rather be alone

I never knew just what it was
About this old coffee shop I love so much
All of the while I never knew

I never knew just what it was
About this old coffee shop I love so much
All of the while I never knew
All of the while, all of the while it was you

One thought on “Love in a Coffee Shop

  1. LU! Thanks for sharing and being so vulnerable. Your words are encouraging and I almost got teary as I read your post. I yearn to find the Lord in a way which you describe, but yet make choices to busy myself with other things. Your journey in search of the King challenges me to truly seek after Him with all I have, instead of this nice idea of someday being close to him. I look forward to reading your posts and will be praying for you!

Leave a Reply

