Nothing Else Matters.


I’m sitting in the middle of the room with my computer on my lap…I’m still a bit in shock.  I’m sitting on a mattress…not on my bed, on the the top mattress of my queen size bed.  As I look around the room there’s DOMINIC on the wall and a Hurley International poster, there’s tupperware bins all around me and a lamp set up on the floor.

SIMPLICITY…

When did my life ever look so simple in terms of the possessions I have.  I can honestly say it’s been a long time.  The room I’m in, it’s in my brothers house.  NEVER EVER did I think I (the older very very mature sister) would be living with my little brother….well never say never!!!  I will be staying here for the next three months living amongst the cutest little rugrats ever in a room not my own with very few of my possessions.  How do I feel about this you might ask….I’M STOKED!!!

I purged so much of my life; 3 huge bags of clothes, 1 huge bag of shoes, 1 very large bag of linens and another filled with pillows, and so many other things I’m not even sure of.  It was the most freeing experience of my entire life.

I have spent the last five years of my life as a complete and utter workaholic…don’t get me wrong I LOVE my job.  The problem is that I have lived for my job.  It’s not good when people ask you what else is new other than work and you really don’t have an answer…”is there anything else?”  The answer to that is YES!!!  No matter how hard I work, how long I work, there’s nothing that will fill that void that was in my life.  There’s was nothing I could do or try to do that would fill that place in my heart, no success, no money, no car, no nothing….only a real life relationship with Jesus.  For so many years I went everywhere but, I tried everything but….thing is guys, there is no but!!!!  There’s only Him.

He is the one and only thing in life that will make life make sense.  You can strive and strive, to try and try but I can tell you first hand from the depth of my heart He’s the only thing that matters in this life and the next.  It was time for me to choose Him…and oh man I couldn’t be more grateful, because everything now makes perfect sense.  The rest of the great things that happen in this life will only be a bonus to what I have already found.

This adventure I’m about to embark on will only make it make more sense.  I just feel so incredibly lucky that I was able to figure this out.  I never want to live another day of my life trying to do it on my own.  There are so many that will forever try and do it alone and it just wont ever make sense.  The choice is yours…what will you decide?  The thing that I now ask is why not just take the chance and find out, what’s the worst thing that could happen?

I found diamonds when I found out who God truly was….what have you found?

5 thoughts on “Nothing Else Matters.

  1. Thank you so much for sharing this! And thank you for the always important reminder that He is all we need!!! I so look forward to following your stories on this amazing life journey you are on!!!

    • Gena,

      Thanks for your encouragement. It’s nice to know that the thoughts and ramblings of my own heart are those that others can relate too.

      It’s crazy amazing what Gods doing in my life. I wish I could inject what my heart feels and how complete it feels. It’s something that some Christians will never experience. But to search for it is so worth it…the brokenness and everything.

    • Gena,

      Thanks for your encouragement. It’s nice to know that the thoughts and ramblings of my own heart are those that others can relate too.

      It’s crazy amazing what Gods doing in my life. I wish I could inject what my heart feels and how complete it feels. It’s something that some Christians will never experience. But to search for it is so worth it…the brokenness and everything.

Leave a Reply

