Simple, Short, Encouraging


We’ve all felt love.

We’ve all felt pain.

We all have dreams.

We all have fears.

We all have a story.

And I’m here to tell YOU that YOUR story matters.

I used to hear that constantly from Annie, and most of the time I would just roll my eyes….then I began to believe her.  And now I am reluctant to say, out loud, in print, no taking it back….Annie Jo Hoffmeier, you were right…there I said it.  🙂

I will now tell you that when we tell our stories, lives are touched, hearts are changed.  It’s the most amazing thing.  I have had this blog for one week and it has been opened over 700 times.  That’s insane to me.  People are reading it, and after they are reading it they are saying that it touched them.

Case and point…I stepped out on a huge limb in my post yesterday when I wrote about my dad.  I let him know that I wrote about him and that I hoped I did not hurt his feelings or make him feel less than.  It did not, he called and left me a voicemail.  He was crying…I have never heard my dad cry, EVER, my whole life.  Here’s what he said:

“I just finished reading your story about your shoes and it made me cry.  Tears of joy.  I just wanted you to know how much I love you.  I’m just so glad that we’re together and just know that I love you, I love you lots.  I just wants your life to be better and happier and all that.  If I can do that for you my dear, I will do that.  I love you, and what a great story…that’s just awesome.  I love you honey.”

All my stuff had crammed up my heart so much I couldn’t allow my dad to really love me.  I had shut him out but now that stoney heart has become a heart of flesh and the amazing parts of my story continue to emerge.

So I just want to encourage you to learn your story, dig into your story so you can tell it.  The story about tennis shoes can penetrate two hearts as never before possible.  Your story is only a small part of God’s story, so tell it so that He can be glorified.

-Lu-says-your-story-matters-Crenshaw

One thought on “Simple, Short, Encouraging

  1. Wowee dunno why but reading ur last 2 blogs tears were streaming down my face. Probably because I lost my dad almost 3 years ago and your story made me miss him. So glad for you that you and your dad have become closer!

Leave a Reply

