The Road


“The journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step”

I feel like sometimes that quote is very cliche, but I feel it’s so relevant to the journey I’ve been on.

Sitting on the front of the tuk-tuk on our way to the village

It’s one step that begins the journey.  The first step is the hardest, the next one seems to be a little bit easier and it continues….but then there are steps throughout that seem to be really hard as well.

Then comes the patches of the journey where the hill is really steep and it’s just hard to take the next step, it’s laborious and quite frankly seems impossible.  Then the top of the hill is reached and it’s easier to walk again.  Then comes the downhill portion….sometimes the steps happen involuntarily and we have no control over the step other than just sliding and hanging on for the ride.

How about the road filled with holes and rocks and twists and turns, bends and curves where you can’t even see around the corner.  Those are exciting but sometimes a deep breathe is taken and we go for it, not knowing what’s next, but knowing the direction is the proper direction.

Are you following or am I just rambling?  Well it could just be rambling, I just felt like writing and this is what’s coming out.

I have heard from many people since I have been away, “thank you for what you are doing, I wish I could do something like that, etc”.

The first step was not easy, but necessary.  Following Jesus, is not always easy but it’s worth it.  Believe me, I’m walking out that journey now.

What does the road you are walking look like right now?  Mine is filled with sharp turns.  But I love it.

LuLee

Leave a Reply

