Heaven Help Me!


Because they're worth it.

You know those days when you wake up and you are not sure how you are going to do the day?????

Today is that sort of day….the only way I’m going to do it….GRACE!!!!

As I came down to my morning coffee house and opened up my facebook my friend Lisa had posted a verse in her status…..DIVINE APPOINTMENT!!!!

“My Grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness” Most gladly therefore I will rather glory in my weaknesses, that the power of Christ may rest on me. Therefore I take pleasure in weakness, in injuries, in necessities, in persecutions, in distress, for Christ sake. FOR WHEN I AM WEAK, THEN I AM STRONG.
II Corinthians 12:9-10

As I am on a team of 13 people there are lots of different personalities, wants and needs…but as a team, as a family we must unite and honor one another in all we do or we would be in big trouble.  Ministry would not exist as how can the light of the Father shine if you our hearts are not right before the Lord.

Two day old clothes as mine got rained on while they were drying on the line...

I have been writing about all kinds of amazing things I will not sit and vulnerable expose a rough patch but how great it all still is.  But, also in talking about the places I am struggling a little this is such a place you could pray for me.  It’s pretty silly and so I’m grateful I’m not having to stay home because I have raging diarrhea and must stay close to a toilet so that something really bad doesn’t happen.  I only have two skirts so I cannot afford that….I know I know gross, but it’s just a truth here, a parasite or bacteria is not uncommon…it can leave you down and out for several days wondering how you have anything left in your body….I digress as I’m laughing to myself as I sit here typing.

I wrote last week about entitlements.  Today is the struggle to serve and obey when I am feeling as if I have been zapped of all energy or stamina.  Often when I am tired my fuse is a little shorter and my mouth tends to speak a little quicker and a sort of disgusting tone of voice seems to come out….not great!!!!

My heart tends to not be as willing or as gracious.  But like I said there’s 13 other people whom I love and respect.  We are team here serving a nation in need of a Savior, a nation in need of true joy, a nation in need of hope.  There are children here who have been left by their parents or their parents have died so they live in an orphanage.  There are people in villages who aren’t sure how they are going to get their next meal, but they continue to praying to gods that don’t ever seem to come through.

We are here to love a nation, we are here to help the next generation become more educated, to help a nation get back on their feet.  Not because we have some huge strategic plan but because we are just loving on them, and just spending time with them.  It’s so simple and so rewarding and when the energy seems low, I choose to serve more because in that place I will ultimately be filled!!!!

It seems the opposite, I’m tired and haven’t slept much, it’s hotter than I can explain and most of your energy is sucked as you walk down the street…but I’m going to choose to walk joyfully into each team meeting because then the enemy cannot steal my joy.  If I give him the reigns to my energy and stamina he’s gonna take it and crush me!!!  I will not allow it.  I am going to choose to fight and fight and fight to love on my team, to offer grace when it’s hard, serve when I’m falling asleep in my own face and continue to pour out all the Lord has given me into these kids as my day progresses!!!!

So I say to you I give up my entitlement to serve and obey when it’s good for me.  I give up my entitlement to choosing when I’m going to be gracious and merciful because “I” don’t feel like it.  I want to cultivate a heart of honor.  To honor others over my own needs….we are a nation of entitlements and we tend to think the world revolves around me and that I should be able to feel how I want to feel.  Sure feel how you want to feel but go before the Lord and give Him the burden, give Him yoke, give Him the emotion because His yoke is easy and His burden is light (Matthew 11:30).  And best of all, His grace is sufficient as my friend Lisa reminded me this morning….

So my prayer request is that sleep would come easy for me at night and that walking in the spirit of joy, mercy, grace, compassion and love would just be easy and second nature no matter the condition of my heart…..IT’S THE DESIRE OF MY HEART.

LuLee

2 thoughts on “Heaven Help Me!

  1. Lu,
    I continue to be amazed at your transparency, love, joy, peace, honesty, and yes, love. I love what the Lord is doing in your life and how your share your heart so readily with us. You are in my prayers for sleep and healthy body functions… LOL!! Love you so much!
    Shell

Leave a Reply

