A Shattered Paradigm


Soudi a woman changed. Lu a woman changed.

Today there was a shattering of paradigms…sure we had talked about it, but today I got first hand revelation.

I have always thought of the church as 4 walls….wrong!!!  The church is the people.  For too long I sat back and waited for the darkness to walk in to our lit up church.  Or tried to get people to come into my church.

Our hearts burn for the nations.  To go out and love on the orphans, the fatherless, the poor, the dying, the widows, it’s a command from the Lord.  I have gotten to see it, but today something shifted.

We went out into the village we go to everyday.  There’s a team that goes M, W, F and a team that goes T and TH.  My team goes out on M, W, F but since I was sick last week I only made it out one day.  We hung out with the kiddos and I told them the story of creation, then we played soccer with them.

So as we went out today I was thinking it would be the same.  I was wrong and that’s when the paradigm was shattered with my own first hand revelation.  I sat down with a bunch of girls, a few boys and some parents.  I began to explain to them the significance of Easter and told them the story of how Jesus died on the cross to save our sins.

Yohan then began to tell little parts of his story about how Jesus saved him from a life a destruction and shame.  It was really great to hear him tell part of his story.  Some of the girls started asking questions and as we continued to talk we asked them if any of them wanted accept the love of Jesus.  Most of them said yes.  The funny thing about Cambodians is that they will all say yes so that you don’t feel bad.  I then chimed in and said that if they wanted to choose Jesus they could not worship Buddha anymore.

One girl said that yes she wanted the love and hope of Jesus.  So we prayed with her and then asked her if she wanted to be baptized….in comes the first hand revelation….the shattering of the paradigm.  Baptism?  Don’t we need a pastor?  Yeah before I went to Kona I thought the same thing….then it all changed.  In Matthew 28:18-19 Jesus says, “All authority in heaven and on earth has been given to me.  Therefore go and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit.”  No where does it say that you must find a pastor who has gone to school, or go and find a church to be baptized in….no Jesus says go and make disciples and baptize them.

So after she chose Jesus we asked her if she wanted to be baptized and explained what baptism was. She chose yes.  So it was time to baptize.  No where in the Bible does it say only men can baptize, so the boys gave me a bowl and poured me some water.  So I prayed with her and we poured the water over her head and from this day forward she is a woman of God and she has left her old life behind. I know many of you will not agree but things need to change, we need to go out and make disciples and not wait for them to come to us.  When we accept Jesus as our Lord and Savior we are given the authority of heaven.  So I choose to walk in the authority I have been given.

Now I get to spend the next few months walking with her and teaching her how great this God we know is.  I can’t wait.  As many of you know I love doing one on one time.  It makes my heart so happy.  So on we go, loving the people the Lord has created us for!!!!

3 thoughts on “A Shattered Paradigm

  1. I hope people don’t get hung up on the fact that you baptized her, because you are doing what most wont which is teaching her as long as you can about Jesus! Good job girl

  2. Of course you baptized her!!!! It was exactly what you were supposed to do at the exact moment in history when you were supposed to do it!!! That moment was made BY GOD especially for the two of you!!! LOVE THE PICTURE!!!

Leave a Reply

