Stripped Naked


You know that quote, “You don’t know what you’ve got until it’s gone”?  Yeah well I learned that last week.

So last Thursday night the Lord led me to 1 Samuel 5.  It’s the story of idols falling.  As I read it I began to think about the idols in my life…food, money, technology, etc.  The list could go on.  I actually prayed a prayer that if the internet here in Cambodia was an idol that it would fall.

I came back in later that day and our room was flooded…it just so happens that my computer and phone were on the floor….UNDERWATER!!!!  Fully submerged.  I quickly opened the computer and put it in front of a fan and put the phone in rice.  Then pouted for a bit….then remembered that I had prayed about it.  I actually asked God to do it.

I came to Lord asked Him for something and He came through!!!  He always does.  But boy, that was an expensive prayer.  Once I got done pouting and realizing that I had actually prayed this I heard the Lord say to keep them off until Tuesday…it was Friday….so I did.

The days passed, I had no music, no games, no internet, no contact with family, no facebook, no blog, no NOTHING.  It was just me, my journal and Jesus.  It was so great.  The Lord began to speak so clearly about so many things and I realized that internet was totally an idol. It was keeping me from really hanging out with the Lord.  I still had my quiet times, but they were much shorter.

I ended up reading so much from Friday to Tuesday.  It was so great and totally freeing.  So Tuesday morning came and I held my breath as I turned them on….no way they were going to work.  They had been under water for a very long time….water was dumping out of my computer.

I literally had tears in my eyes as they both turned on!!!  My computer was not staying charged but it was working.  My phone didn’t even have a water spot in the screen!!!!  NO WAY!!!  I serve a good God.  A God of miracles…that was a miracle and I learned so much.

Since I got to Kona I have been asking the Lord to give me dreams that I remember.  I don’t ever remember my dreams.  I have had one since I left Medford.  I turned the electronics back on Tuesday, I have had a dream every night since then.  Some make no sense and some are pretty insightful.

It took the stripping away of something that took up too much of my time, that kept me from the Father’s heart.  So now there are set boundaries so that this doesn’t get in the way of the fullness of the Lord!!!!  What’s standing in your way?

3 thoughts on “Stripped Naked

  1. Lu,

    Keeping you in our prayers. May the Lord watch over you and keep you close to Him always. I have enjoyed reading about what the Lord is doing in your life and how He is using you in great ways. This letter has spoken to my heart.

    Love Your Friend In Christ,
    Broock

Leave a Reply

