I Don’t Want to Hide Em Anymore


Maybe it’s a little too much information but I often get some of my deepest most profound revelations from the Lord when I am in the shower.  I have met others that experience the same thing…I guess it’s better than getting them while I’m sitting on the toilet right…hahahaha.  Ok now maybe that was a little too much information.  Oh well…sorry.

Ok anyways, back to the revelation.  I had hopped in the shower for the second time in about an hour.  I took a shower before my workout because I had to run afterwards, but then ended up needing to take another after my workout.  Watch the video below to see why I needed a shower and I will then share the revelation.

Alright Lu so what does a stupid tire flip and a really heavy clean have to do with anything?  I’m in the shower scrubbing off all the dirt and the rubber stains and I realize how fun that was.  Yes, getting a little dirty, wrestling with a tire for about 15 minutes trying to flip the thing, ending up with bruises and a little tire rash was fun!!!!  It’s been many many years since I enjoyed being strong.

I have spent my whole life as an athlete.  I have always been strong, I have a bootie, legs and shoulders…as I have mentioned before.  They benefit me none is singing beautifully or learning to play the guitar.  They do not create grace and beauty as I attempt to dance elegantly.  What they are good for though is running fast, jumping high, picking up heavy things and training at high intensities.  To tell you quite honestly I hated it, I hated being strong.  I would seriously out loud say I wish I wasn’t strong, I wish I had arms that looked like shovel handles and a flat butt that pants slid off of…SERIOUSLY I did, don’t laugh.  It was true.

So back to the revelation, I got out of the shower and I was putting on my clothes for the day and doing my makeup.  I had a super cute outfit for that day, good hair, some bronzer on my cheeks, and some mascara.  I just stopped and smiled and just realized that I had overcome something so incredible.  I never questioned by beauty or femininity as I flipped the tire, I wasn’t a beast as I was flipping the tire.  I was a beautiful woman who was made to be strong, the Lord has given me a platform as a trainer.  It’s who I was created to be.

So for the first time in a very long time my worlds and heart were not divided, I was not the strong girl for one moment and then once the cute outfit, hair and makeup on I was beautifully feminine.  I was just beautiful throughout. There was no dichotomy in my head or my heart.  Oh man what a revelation. If I walk in only certain parts of who God has made me to be, it’s like the parable of the talents in Matthew 25.

The Parable of the Bags of Gold

    14 “Again, it will be like a man going on a journey, who called his servants and entrusted his wealth to them. 15 To one he gave five bags of gold, to another two bags, and to another one bag,[a] each according to his ability. Then he went on his journey. 16 The man who had received five bags of gold went at once and put his money to work and gained five bags more. 17So also, the one with two bags of gold gained two more. 18 But the man who had received one bag went off, dug a hole in the ground and hid his master’s money.

 24 “Then the man who had received one bag of gold came. ‘Master,’ he said, ‘I knew that you are a hard man, harvesting where you have not sown and gathering where you have not scattered seed. 25 So I was afraid and went out and hid your gold in the ground. See, here is what belongs to you.’

   26 “His master replied, ‘You wicked, lazy servant! So you knew that I harvest where I have not sown and gather where I have not scattered seed? 27 Well then, you should have put my money on deposit with the bankers, so that when I returned I would have received it back with interest.

   28 “‘So take the bag of gold from him and give it to the one who has ten bags. 29 For whoever has will be given more, and they will have an abundance. Whoever does not have, even what they have will be taken from them. 30 And throw that worthless servant outside, into the darkness, where there will be weeping and gnashing of teeth.’

I do not want to be the foolish servant.  I want to walk fully in who God has created me to be.  So basically the beautifully feminine athlete inside of me has once again been awakened, but with her comes no shame only a desire to be faithful to what the Lord has given me.

So I ask you this, is there somewhere in your life that you have buried your talents?   A place where you have hidden who God has made you to be.  I say, talents inside of you rise, I say talents inside of you awaken, I say talents you no longer can stay dormant, you must wake up because Jesus needs us to walk in the truth of who He has created me to be!!!!

 

13 thoughts on “I Don’t Want to Hide Em Anymore

  1. Yup! Something I had to wrestle down back when I hated always having to fight for the biggest cheerleading uniform as one of the biggest girls in cheerleading. I felt that strong wasn’t pretty, I just got to lift the pretty ones. It took me a long time to get here. And, cool enough…Crossfit helped me be stronger and more ok with it!! You helped me too…because I love that I see you as strong and beautiful, and that made me feel so great…oh, about 2 years ago 😉

    • Thanks for sharing that part of your heart girl!!!! I’m so glad that the gym has been a place for you to walk through a lot of this stuff….who knew!!!! Love you lady!!!

  2. I love this post! I had been dabbling in some writings about God’s intent for embracing the masculinity and femininity that He gave man and woman, regardless of our outward skills. I will never be the prototypical image for masculinity, but this does not mean that I cannot embrace the unique masculine characteristics that reflect His image.

    I’m encouraged anytime a woman realizes how wonderful and beautiful their femininity is, and I’m thankful that it is more than skin deep. Thanks for sharing 🙂

    • A.W. you were created in the image of Christ, you are the picture of a masculinity from the Father’s eyes, the world? I do not know you so I can not say. But the masculinity of the world does not look Kingdom. So I just encourage you to continue to tap into the Father’s masculine heart so that you can teach this generation what that ACTUALLY looks like.

      It has been a journey of 30 years to get to the place of being able to be very athletic, some times freakish 😉 and still know that I was created as a woman in the image of Christ. It took lots of brokenness and the Spirit revealing the lies of the enemy I had believed all these years.

      PS I love that you wrote that you have been dabbling with writings…I’m such a grab the computer, type, post, not even proofread, publish…hahahahaha.

      Thanks for your encouragement. =)

    • I should clarify: when I say dabbling, I mean that in the constant churning of my brain there may be five posts going on at once. Once I hit the keyboard, it’s all word vomit 🙂 I find errors three days later that I go back and fix, thinking to myself, “Wow, that was really professional!”

      But you do a fine job; I haven’t noticed any shotgun writing snafus 🙂 Thanks for the return encouragement; I understand that the world defines our God-given expressions differently than He does, and He is the only one that matters. Teaching our generation these things is a large part of my ministry, and when I reject His words in favor of the world’s standard for masculinity, I stumble. I’m really glad that He seems to be teaching women the same thing all over the blogosphere about their own femininity — it’s almost as if God is in the business of redeeming His purposes in unison, so that He can restore His intent for relationships at creation. That’s a pretty cool thought…

  3. Oh man I never re-read. I never did it in college either. I would write the paper the night before then turn it in…oh well. I got through =)

    True identity is on the heart of the Lord for sure. Freedom from bondage on the heart of the Lord. It’s now a place of rising in those identities and drawing from His heart and leading people into that place of repentance and allowing the Father to move as He does.

    What would marriages look like if both parties actually knew and believed who they were in Christ and Christ alone….that would be a pretty amazing marriage if I do say so myself.

  4. You know I struggle to share but after letting Heavenly Father become back to first in my life I find it easier. I let a man who I was though I was going to marry rib me of all of my talents and god. I didn’t realize how much I put my self behind one to fulfill there talents.

    I fully believe in joining the union of marriage with full mind and soul, but not at the cost of your own. I have to thank my friend and the den for helping me get through this part of my life. It has defiantly been a blessing my life I am thankful for everyday.

    • Heather,

      Thanks so much for being willing to share that part of your story!!!! I know it’s not easy sometimes to share that stuff but I’m so glad that you have found that secret place with the Lord that satisfies everything!!! So glad you are a part of the gym and finding the love of the Father. Love you girl!!!

Leave a Reply

