For MATURE Audiences Only


A diamond….I got one!!!!

It’s been awhile since the last one came.  If you have no idea what I’m talking about you can read up on this post about my diamonds.  DIAMONDS ARE MY BEST FRIEND.

I have really been fighting these last few months for time with the Lord.  I have been finding it hard to get time with the Lord.  I fell in love with Jesus in a coffee shop…well then a few weeks back I gave up coffee and found myself never there.  Well, since then I have begun to drink coffee again and as I’m typing I’m sitting in a coffee shop happy as a clam.

I have really been asking the Lord what this season is all about?  What’s it look like?  What am I supposed to be doing?  Yeah all those striver questions, silly me.  “Spend time with me, find time with me.” Oh yeah…it’s relationship, duh!!!

I have been listening to a podcast by a man name Brian Brennt about dethroning the self and putting God back on the throne of our lives.  It’s amazing.  Here is a link if you want to listen.  It’s a little long but it’s got several different sections.  I promise, it will change your life.  Self-Dethroned Podcast

As I was listening to the podcast Brian gave a definition of maturity and immediately my heart was prompted to write it down and then it was one of my diamonds.  Brian said that maturity is how long you can go being selfless.  Oh boy.  How about how long can you go without being selfish Lu….well I’m gonna say about 2.5 seconds Lord.  It hit me like a ton of bricks and when the Lord gives me a diamond I know that it’s something He’s about to do in me.  It’s a place of refining and boy, how I am ready for some refining.

To be selfless is to every moment of every day kick the self off the throne and let Jesus reside.  It means constantly looking and acting as Jesus would.  It’s selfless living and loving, loving, loving!!!  I felt like the Lord said that the diamond of maturity would begin to shift the heavens and also the hearts.  What if we all lived selflessly as long as we could at any given time.  It would become habit.  It’s become habit for us to put ourselves on the throne of our lives and do what we want to do….because it’s all about us right???  WRONG?  It’s about Jesus and its about looking like Jesus, walk in a room and you know who’s got Jesus, listen to the words out of the mouths of people and you can tell who might not have Jesus.

Jesus is contagious.  Being infected with Jesus means joy, peace, love, understanding, grace, mercy, kindness, gentleness, security.  I got the best compliment I have ever gotten in my entire life.  One of my clients said, “You know Lu everyone in town knows you and affiliates you with fitness, well fitness and Jesus.”  “What?!?!?!?!  People associate me with Jesus….COME ON!!!!”

I’m no where near perfect but I am ready to be mature, I’m ready walk selflessly, my heart has been prepared, it’s readied….let’s roll.  Oh wait but there’s one more thing about this maturity thing.

So then I was given a book called The Root of Rejection by Joyce Meyer.  Oh boy….now that’s not a place my heart really wants to go back to.  There’s so much I have dealt with in the area of rejection these past few years….did I want to go back?  Oh yeah!!!  I wanna be freed.  So I began reading and she throws out the word maturity.  This is what she says about maturity.  Maturity to Joyce meant the ability to accept correction.  Yikes…that one hurts.  Am I willing to yield to reason?  Wisdom from above yields to reason (James 3:17)…wisdom from heaven, yes please.  I say that but I tell you what being a teacher I’m not very good at being corrected.  Wow that was hard to type and awfully humbling.  But I’m ready for it.

I am ready for maturity…it’s about time right….I am almost 31 years.  I am ready to walk in the maturity of Jesus and not the world.  So basically after all the rambling and stuff God gave me the the diamond of maturity…that’s where I was going with all this.

So I challenge you to accept correction and to walk as long as you can selflessly.  And when you want to put yourself back on the throne of your life, kick yourself off and let Jesus back on.  It works way better that way.

 

3 thoughts on “For MATURE Audiences Only

  1. Moral of the story: coffee is a divinely anointed beverage. 😉

    In all seriousness though, here’s a good one for you:

    We have much to say about this, but it is hard to explain because you are slow to learn. In fact, though by this time you ought to be teachers, you need someone to teach you the elementary truths of God’s word all over again. You need milk, not solid food! Anyone who lives on milk, being still an infant, is not acquainted with the teaching about righteousness. But solid food is for the mature, who by constant use have trained themselves to distinguish good from evil. (Hebrews 5:11-14, emphasis added)

    Maturity means learning to feed yourself in His Spirit.

    The writer rebukes the “infant” believers for having to rehash the same foundational truths rather than learning to discern things based on their intimacy with Christ. What we fail to recognize is that God expects us to toddle. There’s going to be an awkward stage where we attempt to digest solid food and try to walk on our own two feet. Sometimes we will bite off more than we can chew. We will nervously waddle — and occasionally stumble — as our legs develop strength. This is a natural maturation process: as our perfect Father, He will rescue us from our mishaps and demonstrate His power when we are in over our heads.

    Because the mature believer begins to trust in the Lord’s presence, he or she is no longer concerned with where the next meal might be found. Whereas the infant is dependent on others to spoon-feed a consumable product, the mature believer knows how to seek Him without an intermediary. When we learn to trust God and have faith that He is present, we are able to distinguish things of the Kingdom from those of the world, because we grow to personally know His character from time spent with Him.

    This trust in the Spirit is key: it is through an intimate understanding of Christ’s love that we transition from an over-indulgence of internal disciplines to becoming the outward expression of Christ to the world. An infant is only concerned with his or her own survival and meeting of needs. But the mature receive their sustenance and use this fuel to serve others. The believer that does not learn to love from the overflow of His presence will never have anything to offer another child.

Leave a Reply

