Standing Back and Watching….


                                ***CLICK THE MITS FOR A NEWSLETTER***

I think most people assume that as a trainer you get a kick out of watching people struggle during a workout.  It’s definitely not an easy thing to watch as someone battles to even finish what they have started.

I have been doing this for many many years and I know that as the battle is taking place there is something amazing happening.  There are victories happening even though it feels like utter defeat.

The body says, “I’m done I’m done”, the mind says, “I can’t”, the hearts says, “I’m too weak”.  But, somewhere in the midst of all that something happens.  Sometimes you give in and give up.  But, other times and most of the time you stand up, you fight, you finish.

As a coach you walk a fine line during this battle.  When do you push them harder, when you back off a little, when do you just sit back and let them struggle?  Because let me just say, it’s not easy to watch.  I want to jump in and help, I want to jump in and just say ok you can be done, I want to make the struggle stop.  I can’t, because in the midst of the struggle things are breaking, walls are crumbling and a fight is happening.

There are times when the fight is just about the physical weakness of the body. Other times it’s literally the fight of someone’s life.  It’s literally a war that can be won or lost with the decision to finish or the choice to stop.  It might look like a temper tantrum, it might look like tears, or it could be a silent battle.

The struggle, teaches us to fight, and the fight shows us that we can conquer.  It’s not always easy to finish what we have started, especially when it’s hard, but the choice to overcome literally takes us to another place that we may never understand.

So if I’m standing over you encouraging you to keep going, or off to the side not saying a word I promise, it’s for your own good, because to let you struggle ultimately means victory!!!!

Sometimes the Lord asks us to walk through things that are hard, but He knows it’s the best thing for us.  Because being molded and shaped, then walking through fire usually creates a vessel ready for use.

2 thoughts on “Standing Back and Watching….

  1. “The struggle, teaches us to fight, and the fight shows us that we can conquer. It’s not always easy to finish what we have started, especially when it’s hard, but the choice to overcome literally takes us to another place that we may never understand.” wow! seriously… you are so right on… thank you for this today! I needed it!

  2. Lu, being a trainer is very much like being a parent. As a parent you want your child to succeed at all that they attempt. You want to do the difficult tasks and save them from the heart ache of relationships and friendships gone bad, struggling with there parenting skills, etc…… However out of love and desiring for them that they have the best life possible, you walk a fine fine line of when to help them out and when to stand back and let them fall. One thing that is always true (in my humble conviction) is that just like GOD, I will always be there (as long as I am phyiscally and mentally able) to pick them up and help with putting the pieces back together. As I trust more and more in GOD, He always knows what is right for me and will see that I am taken care of. Life is a struggle and noone ever said it would be easy. Thanks for being there to support and push me over the last couple of years in the taking back control of my life both at the box and in life. Your voice is ever present in my head. Loving life and living it to the fullest. Seconds lost will never found.

Leave a Reply

