Layered Masks


Tell Me by Kate Hurley:  Call me beautiful. I want to believe.  Am I beautiful, when you see everything?  Can you call me beautiful, the weakest parts of me?  Am I beautiful when i come out from hiding?  When I come out from hiding?  On the outside it looks like I’m doing alright.  On the outside I seem fine.   But I’m dying for someone to hold me close and tell me it’s alright.  Will you take off all my layered mask, will you look upon my face?  Will you tell me that I’m beautiful?  Will you love me, all the way?  Will you tell me that I’m beautiful, will you love me all the way?

(Tell me that I’m beautiful, until I believe.) Even in your weakness, you are beautiful to me. (Tell me that I’m beautiful, until I believe.)  Even in your weakness, you are beautiful to me.  (Tell me that I’m beautiful, until I believe.)  Even in your weakness you are beautiful to me. (Tell me that I’m beautiful, until I believe.)  Even your weakness, you are beautiful to me.

In this song as the woman is singing the question, the man is responding to her.  It’s absolutely beautiful!!!!  I would so recommend listening to it.  I tried to look for a link but could not find any…but have a listen, you may need a kleenex.

I heard this song a few years ago and it absolutely captured my heart.  I would listen to it over and over and over and over and over….well you get the point.  As women we innately ask these questions constantly.  Will we be loved for all of who we are…even if it’s messy, imperfect, and maybe not so lovely.?  Will they love us when they really get to know us?

Layered masks…yikes.  The facades we put on to protect our hearts…how silly we are.  All we are doing is covering up who we were intended to be.  Last week I posted a comment on my facebook about how the walls around a woman’s heart crumble when a man steps into his masculinity.  When a man rises up into who he is, he knows how to love well.  He loves his friends better, his girl better, his wife better, his daughter better.  We as women know that he might not be perfect, but neither are we.  But we just know that our hearts are safe in his presence.  We know that our walls can fall because our heart will be protected.

There’s just something about a man saying I’m going to love, I’m going to take care of you, I’m gonna be the man God has called me to be it causes women to be tender.  We were created to be tender but when creation fell we as women became controlling and down right critical.  As I am here surrounded by plenty of men, I get to watch them grow and realize who they are in the eyes of their heavenly father.  They walk out of passivity, they truly want to honor women, they are confident in who they are.  It’s a really amazing thing to watch.

We as women are intended to be tender and men intended to rise and fight….the roles are all too often switched.  I just say I choose to be a tenderhearted women, to trust the Lord with my heart that the man he has for me will know exactly how to fight for me.  And in so doing, I will be tender and he will be a fighter a man full of wild passion and violent LOVE!!!

2 thoughts on “Layered Masks

Leave a Reply

