F-R-I-E-N-D-S-H-I-P


You know, there’s this crazy thing about friendship…sometimes it lasts, well and sometimes it doesn’t.

When they don’t last it’s hard, but it really is sometimes for a season.

I’m sitting contemplating what to even write as I know I just want to post a blog so I just looked at a picture on my phone and out it’s coming.

You know I think there are a lot of things that go into making relationships last.  It takes effort, love and that other stuff, but as I sit here I’m going to say that basically grace is at the core of a lasting relationship.

There are friends that last through the good, the bad, and the ugly.  I had lunch with a friend the other day and literally she’s loved me through some really ugly places.  Like the ugliest parts of who I am she saw, she was a benefactor and yet she still loves me.  So now as I sit across the table from her she is talking to the best I have ever been.  The conversations don’t change.  The relationship looks just like it used to, but we aren’t playing soccer anymore.  I’m not helping her finish her Cooper test and she’s not holding me up as we stumble home.  She’s a momma and I’m a missionary.  Hahahahaha!!!!  Oh my goodness that just makes me laugh.

I can literally remember the times where she would just encourage me and just remind me how much she loved me…for all of me.  There was so much grace.  For all of you who have stood by me all these years please know I have not forgotten these things are all stirring from my sweet little lunch date.

I also look at a lot of the friendships and relationships that never lasted because I had no grace.  I didn’t know to be gracious, nor did I know how to receive it.  So basically what I’m trying to say is that grace can salvage most relationships.  None of us are perfect and I just don’t want to be someone who expects perfection out of others.  I have spent entirely too many years doing that.  I want to receive grace so that I can give grace.

I love you my friends.  Thank you for the grace that has abounded and thank you for loving me through ALL of it!!!  I wouldn’t be here if there hadn’t been grace.  Lord, thank you that your grace is new every morning.  Lamentations 3:23

 

 

5 thoughts on “F-R-I-E-N-D-S-H-I-P

  1. What a sweet picture of you and Chelsea! You are right, grace is a commodity that given freely has an amazing ability to heal…. and kept to your self or not received, has an amazing ability to allow division to thrive. Jesus, thank you for your grace, thank you for friends like Chelsea who know Lu intimately, and love her passionately. May your grace abound in both their lives and may they walk through their lives forever bound by grace and the love that arises from it. GRACE GRACE GRACE GRACE GRACE on my girl! Love you!

  2. oh you said it girl! that was perfect and such a simple valuable lesson to continually remind ourselves each and every day. God has shone us such amazing grace and He wants us to bless others with it 🙂 it’s our daily die to self. such a huge piece of wisdom. thank you friend! i love and miss you lu!

  3. Your posts alway seem to hit me so hard. Really they usually make me tear up, or ball like a baby! LOL! I appreciate your Blog’s Lu and your wisdome! I wish there would have been more time for us to get to know each other..You teach me something new though by your words. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

