I’ve Been Put on BLAST


Click Pic to Hear “On the Shores” Melissa Helser (Amazing Song)

“He that has learned to feel his sins, and to trust Christ as a Saviour, has learned the two hardest and greatest lessons in Christianity.” 
― J.I. Packer

I have said it before…I will say it again, there are moments when I feel like I’ve been hit upside the head with a 2 x 4.  This is not necessarily a bad thing, but one of those, “Duh, Lu” moments.

As I have been sorting through all sorts of deep seeded (seated..which one is it?) heart issues this week, my sin has been on blast!!!  The big things, the little things, the old, things, the new things…one fish, two fish, red fish, blue fish.  Can you tell I’m a mess…I’m all over the place?  I return to the subject…SIN ON BLAST.

It’s amazing what the Lord can bring up in our hearts when the only thing that seems to be functioning is my mind.  So basically as I’m verbally processing (a prettier way to basically categorize word vomit) today I learned something crazy…..are you ready for this????

FEAR IS SIN.

Shall I say it again?  Fear is a sin.  Wait, isn’t fear just an emotion, it’s something I feel.  It’s something that happens when I don’t have enough faith, perfect love casts it out….it’s not sin.  There’s that 2 x 4…SMACK!!!!!  Sin, period, exclamation point.  For in my fears, I take back control, I question the actual nature of the immutable, sovereign God, make the conscious choice that He’s not actually who He says He is.

So, like any sin I have the option to continue to live in it, or I have the opportunity to repent and flee in the opposite direction.  To run as fast as I can each and every time fear (a sin) rears it’s head against the knowledge of God.  I’ve laced up my running shoes and I’m ready to run faster than I have ever run in my life.

I literally have been a worrier ALL my life, my mom used to call me a worry wart, her little neurotic girl, and on and on.  I’m done.  I’m calling it quits.  No more.  It’s been exposed as sin and sin I call it.  The greatest thing about this realization is that it’s the opportunity for sanctification.  I have been confronted with my sin and have the opportunity to allow the spirit to do it’s work in my life that I would look more and more like Christ.

I must say I’m actually super excited about this…it actually is making me a bit giddy knowing what I know!!!  It means freedom, it means a life that is not lived by fear, anxiety will not rule my life, and God gets his rightful place back on the throne of my life.

2 thoughts on “I’ve Been Put on BLAST

  1. Thank you for sharing! Praise God for our 2 x 4 moments!!! But now the “walking it out” part. With revelations comes grace…but you still have free will. I’ll be praying that you allow God to finish the work He started. You must be headed for a season that will require you to walk in a greater level of faith. More faith = less fear.

Leave a Reply

