Are You Even Listening?


Listen

“Casting down imaginations and every high thing that exalteth itself against the the knowledge of God, and bringing into captivity every thought to the obedience of Christ.”                                                                                                                  II Corinthians 10:5 (KJV)

As I read this verse this morning I wanted to see expounded what this verse looks like using the Strong’s Concordance.  I will just share what this verse looks like in Lu’s amplified study.  I am yet to be a Bible scholar, this was not an exhaustive study I just quickly used my concordance to look at these words and their meaning in the original Greek.  As I dug into the meaning behind the words I came out with one very simple yet profound lesson.

Casting down (to lower, demolish, cast [pull, put, take] down, destroy) imaginations (thought, reasoning, and computation) and every (always, whole, daily, thoroughly, whatsoever, whosoever) high thing (elevated place or thing, altitude, a barrier, height) that exalteth itself (to raise up, exalt self, poise [take, lift] up) against (frequently denotes opposition) against the knowledge (knowing, by implication science) of God (Supreme Divinity, Diety, Magistrate, exceedingly Godly), and bringing into captivity (make captive, lead away) every (is the same Greek word as the every above) thought (perception, purpose, the intellect, disposition, device, mind, thought) to the obedience (attentive hearkening: give attention to what is said, listen, to hear; compliance or submission) of Christ (Anointed Messiah, epithet of Jesus).

There is so much here, I could go on for paragraph after paragraph, but the simple thing that I took from diving into one short scripture;

I MUST LISTEN IN ORDER THAT I MAY OBEY.  

This may sound a little silly, I even feel a little silly typing something so duh-ish (I think I just made up a new word) but I love how when we dive into the Word and we let the Lord dissect our hearts He through His Word teaches us great and mighty things.  They may be simple but they are so profound.  Listen to Him, He’s got so much to share and when you listen He can lead the way.

Leave a Reply

