Perk Up Those Ears!!!


Gosh there are just some great songs out there these days aren’t there???  Great beats, great lyrics, they completely get stuck in your head and you no matter what you do you just can’t stop singing them!  You know what I am talking about right?!?!?  I just want to pose a very simple little question, do you actually listen to the lyrics?  Here’s one of those good ole songs right?!?!?!  Read the words, hum along if you want to…..

Imagine – John Lennon

Imagine there’s no heaven
It’s easy if you try
No hell below us
Above us only sky
Imagine all the people living for today

Imagine there’s no countries
It isn’t hard to do
Nothing to kill or die for
And no religion too
Imagine all the people living life in peace

You, you may say 
I’m a dreamer, but I’m not the only one
I hope some day you’ll join us
And the world will be as one

Imagine no possessions
I wonder if you can
No need for greed or hunger
A brotherhood of man
Imagine all the people sharing all the world

You, you may say 
I’m a dreamer, but I’m not the only one
I hope some day you’ll join us
And the world will live as one

I am just going to leave you with the simplicity of a song that we all love, it’s sweet song we all know…Imagine all the people…living for today ew, ew ew ew!!!  Oh yeah you can hear it now.  Living for today?  YIKES…scary.  Well anyways I am just throwing out the challenge to look into the songs you are listening to, who are the artists, what is there agenda, and most important of all what are you children growing up listening to?  As much as we want to think it’s just harmless music with harmless words, we have been lulled to sleep with agendas around every corner…what are you being lulled asleep to?  What songs are running through your head all day long?  It’s it life giving or are you just singing along with the words completely unaware of what is going into your mind?  We gotta wake up to the tactics of the enemy, he wants to kill, steal, and destroy and he’s lurking EVERYWHERE….Let’s become a generation who takes in the things that bring life, for out of the overflow our heart the mouth speaks!!!

For some this may have rubbed you very very very wrong, you may even be a little offended and even a bit pissed at me.  If that is the case remember that sometimes God offends our minds to reveal our hearts…….

4 thoughts on “Perk Up Those Ears!!!

  1. right now…You are my king, you are my king, Jesus you are my king….Amazing love…..I know I raised you singing to Psalty the Singing Song book and it does a mom’s heart good to know that when you train up a child in the way they should go, they won’t depart from it!!

    • Thank you for having the guts and heart to write this, Lu! I think about this all the time, especially since my kids are really starting to pay attention. Obviously I thought if it was just me, that it really didn’t matter. But it does! I am always mindlessly singing along to a catchy song when all of a sudden I snap out of it and hear myself. EW! I don’t want my kids hearing that! I had to keep changing stations the other day because EVERY song was about some sort of sexual encounter. Finally I just left it on KLove. Now I just need the “sticktoitiveness” to keep it there!

      • It’s crazy when we become aware! It’s satan realizing we have found him and his tactics out! There’s a ton of good stuff out there, rock, hip hop, etc!!!! Pandora is great! Keep those ears open and The Lord will bless that obedience and faithfulness!!!!

Leave a Reply

