EXCUSES EXCUSES


no-excuses-nike-football_1024x768_338-standard-e1327798385501

The great thing about writing your own blog is that you can plug whatever you wanna plug!!! Today I wanted to give a shout out to my friend Ivan Roman. He is the pastor at a new church in the valley called Empower Church and Training Center.  We meet in the Jackson Elementary Cafeteria on Sunday mornings at 10am. I met Ivan and his wonderful wife and three boys while living in Kona. They moved here last year when they felt the Lord called them to the valley. Ivan is an amazing man and has written a book called The Identity Manual. I bought the book today at church and have been blown away by it.

I was trying to write a blog post for tomorrow and was just coming up short, but I really wanted to write and tell you about this book. Around that same time Jenna told me she had a post…great now I can talk about the book and it will all go hand in hand….little did I know….God is just so creative and blows my mind sometimes.  Here is the front of the book and you will see what I’m getting at when you begin to the read the post by Jenna.

IMG_1800

Here’s Jenna back with more for us…

I’M JUST NOT ATHLETIC.
I realized recently this has been one of the anthems of my life.

Let’s pretend every person had to wear a HELLO-type name tag. And let’s pretend that instead of HELLO it said “I’M JUST NOT…”

What would mine say? Ok well today it might be “I’m just not wanting to wait for the next Hobbit movie.”

But most days mine would usually say I’M JUST NOT ATHLETIC.

Growing up, my sister was the ‘athletic one’ and I was the ‘creative one’, and I embraced that statement. Oh sure, I was on sports teams but no one (especially me) took me seriously. Ever. I spent most of the season praying to God the pitcher would walk me, or the ball would stay as far away from me as possible. I spent my free time being creative and not worrying about physical strength or fitness. And let’s not even discuss my sugar addiction. We would be here all night. And I justified it all with the lie that said I’M JUST NOT ATHLETIC.

If you ask me to get up before sunrise to craft a blog post, I’m all over it. Like 4:30 a.m. all over it. Because I’m creative. It’s what I do. It influences the way I live and relax and relate.

But ask me to get up before work and exercise? Surely you jest. Because I’m not athletic. It’s just not my thing. Go watch a movie? Pinterest? Research or write or take a road trip? Yes, please. Walk up that hill? Get my heart rate up? Actually run? Get pitty? Surely you jest.

But here’s the thing. Hear me, friend.

I’M JUST NOT ATHLETIC has now turned in to I’M JUST NOT HEALTHY.

And it scares me.

When I first met Lu, she shared about the lies that lurk within the “I’M JUST NOT…” statement. Every person has one. And every one is different. It made me think.

And to be honest it freaked me out a little.

What if the I’M JUST NOT ATHLETIC statement was my way of avoiding God’s best for my life? What if it just fed my fear of failure and inadequacy? What if when I ignore my body’s need for good fuel and exercise I am actually sabotaging a great adventure God wants to send me on? What if my choice to stay comfortable has put me on the path to crisis? What if God has another path for my life that I can’t walk right now because I’ve neglected my body?

Today, I have made a choice. Today I will not use I’M JUST NOT ATHLETIC as an excuse. I am on a new path now, and I’m no longer going to believe that lie.

Have you used an I’M JUST NOT statement in your life as an excuse? Or maybe it’s an I’M JUST statement. Maybe you’ve said it for so long it’s become part of the way you identify yourself. Maybe it’s time to throw it out. Maybe it’s time to make a choice and start a new path. Maybe it’s time to no longer believe that lie.
So what’s your I’M JUST NOT statement?
It’s time to throw that sucker out. Who’s with me?

546013_4557039413892_1468304744_nJenna is married to her prom date (David) and is the proud mom of Ethan (22), Evan (20) and Ellis (18). She is learning how to live like Jesus and to love urgently, extravagantly and invisibly. She is a hopeless coffee freak, a mentor for teens and college kids, and blogger over at JUMPING INTO AWKWARD.

2 thoughts on “EXCUSES EXCUSES

  1. This was so encouraging to me Jenna! The part that really spoke to me was, “What if when I ignore my body’s need for good fuel and exercise I am actually sabotaging a great adventure God wants to send me on? What if my choice to stay comfortable has put me on the path to crisis? What if God has another path for my life that I can’t walk right now because I’ve neglected my body?” SOOOOO good!!! I don’t want to miss out on God’s path for my life! I think we need to go have a cup of coffee sometime. 🙂 Mine is, “I’m just not worth it.” Which is a total lie, but one that’s been around for a long time. I’m trying to throw it out but it keeps coming back. boo. Thanks again for the encouraging word!

Leave a Reply

